The 12th International Conference on Hydrodynamics
18 – 23 september 2016, Egmond aan Zee, The Netherlands
Home Program Author Index Search

EVOLUTION OF A SPILLING BREAKER: AN EXPERIMENTAL STUDY OF THE GEOMETRICAL AND KINEMATIC FEATURES.


Go-down ichd2016 Tracking Number 145

Presentation:
Session: Multiphase Flow
Room: Room 3
Session start: 10:30 Wed 21 Sep 2016

Alessia Lucarelli   alessia.lucarelli@insean.cnr.it
Affifliation: CNR-INSEAN, Rome, Italy; Univ. Politecnica delle Marche, Ancona, Italy

Massimo Falchi   massimo.falchi@cnr.it
Affifliation: CNR-INSEAN, Rome, Italy

Mario Felli   mario.felli@cnr.it
Affifliation: CNR-INSEAN, Rome, Italy

Claudio Lugni   claudio.lugni@cnr.it
Affifliation: CNR-INSEAN, Rome, Italy ; AMOS, NTNU, Trondheim, Norway

Giuseppina Colicchio   giuseppina.colicchio@cnr.it
Affifliation: CNR-INSEAN, Rome, Italy ; AMOS, NTNU, Trondheim, Norway

Maurizio Brocchini   m.brocchini@univpm.it
Affifliation: Univ. Politecnica delle Marche, Ancona, Italy


Topics: - Hydrodynamics in ocean, coastal and estuary engineering, - Advanced experimental techniques, - Multiphase flow

Abstract:

We here describe an experimental study of a spilling breaker finalized to the comprehension of the physics and on the development of a simplified mathematical model for the motion of the breaker. Such a model is based on the three-layer structure already proposed by the authors:: an underlying potential flow, a thin, turbulent single-phase layer in the middle and a turbulent two-phase layer (air-water) on the upper part. Laboratory experiments have been specifically designed and carried out to investigate the physical mechanisms involved in the interaction among the mentioned three layers. A sloshing wave has been selected for the generation of the breaker. A 3m long, 0.6m deep and 0.10m wide tank has been built in Plexiglas and forced through an hexapode system, which allows a high accuracy of the motion. To ensure repeatability of the phenomenon, a suitable breaker event has been generated to occur during the first two oscillation cycles of the tank. The tank motion has been suitably designed using a potential and a Navier-Stokes solver. A PIV system has been set-up to measure both mean and turbulent kinematic quantities. The analysis of the experimental data will provide information on possible links of the geometrical quantities that characterize the individual layers, and the kinematic quantities measurable in the single-phase turbulent layer.