The 12th International Conference on Hydrodynamics
18 – 23 september 2016, Egmond aan Zee, The Netherlands
Home Program Author Index Search

NUMERICAL ANALYSIS OF DRAG AND HYDRODYNAMIC DERIVATIVES OF NON-SYMMETRIC AUTONOMOUS UNDERWATER VEHICLE USING CFD


Go-down ichd2016 Tracking Number 143

Presentation:
Session: Computational Fluid Dynamics IV
Room: Room 2
Session start: 10:30 Tue 20 Sep 2016

Jeonghoon Park   jeonghoon.park@lignex1.com
Affifliation: LIG Nex1

Sunghoon Kim   sunghoon.kim@lignex1.com
Affifliation: LIG Nex1

Moonhwan Kim   moonanikim@lignex1.com
Affifliation: LIG Nex1

Jaeyeop Choi   jy.choi@lignex1.com
Affifliation: LIG Nex1

Yunho Jeon   yunho.jeon@lignex1.com
Affifliation: LIG Nex1

Myungsub Shin   myungsub.shin@lignex1.com
Affifliation: LIG Nex1

Younghun Shin   younghun.shin@lignex1.com
Affifliation: LIG Nex1

Dongseok Kang   dongseok.kang@lignex1.com
Affifliation: LIG Nex1

Jiho Choi   jiho.choi@lignex1.com
Affifliation: LIG Nex1


Topics: - Ship hydrodynamics resistance, propulsion, powering, seakeeping, manoeuvrability, slamming, sloshing, impact, green water, - Computational fluid dynamics

Abstract:

Generally, hydrodynamic derivatives of underwater vehicle is obtained by basin model test. However, experiments in basin need to much cost and time, nowadays CFD(Computational Fluid Dynamics) is frequently adopted. In this paper, numerical analysis by CFD was performed to calculate drag and hydrodynamic derivatives of autonomous underwater vehicle(AUV), which was developed by LIG Nex1. The AUV has external parts installed to hull. RF/GPS antenna and communication modem are attached to upper surface, and side scan sonar to both side surface. These appendages can cause additional drag and non-symmetric phenomena of flow around AUV. In this study, we performed resistance, static elevator/rudder and static angle of attack/drift simulations in order to get hydrodynamic coefficients of AUV and verify non-symmetric effects. The results of this paper show that our predictions are correct. Appendages made resistance increase, and elevator, upper rudder and lower rudder had different control force for same fin angle, respectively. The tendencies of static angle of attack simulations were different for directions of angle of attack. The drag as a function of flight velocity and hydrodynamic derivatives were calculated on the basis of the results in this paper and used in review of configuration design, controller design and analysis of flight chracteristics.